Adam Portraiture Award

Entries for the Adam Portraiture Award 2020 have now closed. 

All entrants will receive notification by 27 January 2020 after finalist selection has been completed.

The Adam Portraiture Award is a biennial competition for painted portraits at The New Zealand Portrait Gallery, generously sponsored by the Adam Foundation. 

First Prize: $20,000
Runner up: $2,500
People’s Choice: $2,500

This year there are two judges - Karen Quinlan, Director of the National Portrait Gallery of Australia and Dr Lara Strongman, Senior Curator Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū

The winner of the 2020 Adam Portraiture Award will be announced 26 February 2020.
2020 Adam Portraiture Award exhibition runs from 27 February to 31 May 2020.

Conditions of Entry

Frequently Asked Questions


Previous Winners

Adam Portraiture Award

2018 - Logan Moffat 

2016 - André Brönnimann | View all 2016 finalists

2014 - Henry Christian-Slane | View all 2014 finalists

2012 - Stephen Martyn Welch | View all 2012 finalists

2010 - Harriet Bright

2008 - Irene Ferguson

2006 - Freeman White

2004 - Ryuzo Nishida (Portrait not acquired)

2002 - Marianne Muggeridge (Portrait not acquired)

National Portrait Competition

2000 - Marianne Muggeridge

Since 2006 the winning artworks have been automatically acquired into the New Zealand Portrait Gallery collection.


The Adam Portraiture Award is generously funded by the Adam Foundation

Adam Foundation